Tuesday, 2 February 2010

Hops a Daisy

I stand corrected. In my last post I wrongly commented that regular beer was a no-go for those intolerant to wheat. Beer blogger Tom has put me straight. Proper beer made the age-old German way is made simply of water, barley, yeast and hops. Many beer brands out there follow this recipe, especially the fancier european ones. Sadly, Barley is a no-go for Gluten intolerance but I have learnt today that there is more than one type of gluten-free beer on the market so all is not lost. I found this beer blog had a useful article about it.

If you're ever in the Leeds area, North Bar on New Briggate stocks gluten-free beers and have very knowledgeable staff who can advise you on which tipples will suit your diet.

I personally am very happy that a whole new world of beer has opened up to me! It's amazing how a simple little thing like a bottle of brown booze can make such a difference.

Cheers!
M

No comments:

Post a Comment